Candidates for Attorney General

Xavier Becerra Xavier Becerra

Hon. Xavier Becerra was appointed to the position of California State Attorney General by Governor Jerry Brown and was sworn into office on January 24, 2017. Hon. Becerra served one term in the California State Assembly before his election to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1992, where he served representing Los Angeles-area voters until his appointment earlier this year.

Dave Jones Dave Jones

Dave Jones currently serves as the publicly elected Insurance Commissioner for the State of California, an office to which he was first elected to serve in 2010. Hon. Jones was first elected to public office as Member of Sacramento City Council. In following the career path of former Senate Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg, Hon. Jones served in the State Assembly where he served as Chair of the Judiciary and Health Committees, among other committee and subcommittee assignments.


 California's statewide primary will be held on Tuesday, June 5, 2018.